How to delete objects from the object repository?

Removing objects from a local object repository:
1. Go to Resources -> Object Repository.
2. In the Filter combobox, select “Local Objects.”
3. In the object tree, select the object to be removed.
4. Click the delete toolbar button.
5. Click <Yes> to confirm the deletion.
6. Save the test to save the updated local repository.

The object, and any children it may have, will be removed.

Removing objects from a shared object repository:
1. Go to Resources -> Object Repository Manager.
2. Go to File -> Open. Navigate to the desired Shared Object Repository file.
3. By default, the repository will open in read-only mode. Go to File -> Enable Editing.
4. In the object tree, select the object to be removed.
5. Click the delete toolbar button.
6. Click <Yes> to confirm the deletion.
7. Save the updated shared repository.

The object, and any children it may have, will be removed.

2 Responses to “How to delete objects from the object repository?”

  1. Prakash Says:

    Hi,

    This is Prakash. Am a novice in Automation. So to make myself familiar I downloaded the trail version of QTP 9.5 and installed in my notebook with Windows Vista. After normal installation, I was running “Additional Installation Requirements–>Configure DCOM settings”, I got this message “Run time error ‘424’: Object Required”. I clicked OK from the displayed window and finally it displayed that installation is completed.
    Then I started QuickTest Professional–>New Test..I noticed two issues:
    Issue 1: RECORD button is in disabled state.
    Issue 2: The default view selected is ExpertView and when I tried to select “Keyword View”. I can view ERROR(glowing in RED) at the bottommost right corner and also info “Syntax Error.See Information pane for details”.But nothing is displayed in Information pane.

    Already another faced the same problem and requested for solution in this blog.
    Can anyone assist me plz.
    my email is cmjayaprakash@gmail.com

    Thanks,
    Prakash

  2. srikar Says:

    we can also add the objects through function like objectrepositorycollection.add”file path”

Leave a comment